result (33)

Following rumors earlier in the week sparked by fellow N.W.A. rapper Ice Cube, the one and only Dr. Dre revealed Saturday during The Pharmacy radio show on Apple’s Beats 1 that his new album Compton: A Soundtrack by Dr. Dre will finally arrive on Aug. 7.

The new set will feature the likes of Eminem, Kendrick Lamar, Ice Cube, Snoop Dogg, Jill Scott, Justus, BJ the Chicago Kid and more. It will also serve as a soundtrack for the upcoming N.W.A. biopic Straight Outta Compton, as the film also served as inspiration for the LP.

The always hard on himself Dre also explained during the broadcast his true feelings regarding his past project, Detox which was scrapped:

“This is something you’re not gonna hear many artists say, the reason the Detox didn’t come out was because I didn’t like. It wasn’t good. The record, it just wasn’t good. I’ma keep it all the way 1000 with you, I mean seriously, I worked my ass off on it, but I didn’t think I did a good enough job. I couldn’t do that to myself to be honest.”

Unsurprisingly, Compton will be released exclusively on Apple Music and iTunes via Aftermath/Interscope Records.

See the album’s tracklisting and album cover art below.


Compton: A Soundtrack by Dr. Dre Tracklisting

01. “Intro”

02. “Talk About It” (feat. King Mez & Justus)

03. “Genocide” (feat. Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius & Candice Pillay)

04. “It’s All On Me” (feat. Justus & BJ the Chicago Kid)

05. “All In a Day’s Work” (feat. Anderson Paak & Marsha Ambrosius)

06. “Darkside/Gone” (feat. King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius & Kendrick Lamar)

07. “Loose Cannons” (feat. Xzibit & COLD 187um)

08. “Issues” (feat. Ice Cube & Anderson Paak)

09. “Deep Water” (feat. Kendrick Lamar & Justus)

10. “One Shot One Kill” – Jon Connor (feat. Snoop Dogg)

11. “Just Another Day” – The Game (feat. Asia Bryant)

12. “For the Love of Money” (feat. Jill Scott & Jon Connor)

13. “Satisfiction” (feat. Snoop Dogg, Marsha Ambrosius & King Mez)

14. “Animals” (feat. Anderson Paak)

15. “Medicine Man” (feat. Eminem, Candice Pillay & Anderson Paak)

16. “Talking to My Diary”

Via Variance