result (82)

For Fans Of: The Kills, Hunters, Bass Drum Of Death, FIDLAR, Japanther, King Tuff

JEFF the Brotherhood have announced a new prog album and released the first single. Limited to 1500 hand-numbered double-LPs, Global Chakra Rhythms drops Friday, November 13th via Infinity Cat Recordings.

After watching their eighth album sit in major-label purgatory for over a year, JEFF The Brotherhood wasted no time finishing their next project and releasing it on their own terms and their own label. Recorded under mysterious circumstances, the double album Global Chakra Rhythms is a glimpse into the unpredictable minds of the brothers Orrall. It’s a psychedelic trip that recalls their more experimental pieces from The Boys R Back In Town and Rafiki’s Vision and includes a near-demonic cover of Mazzy Star‘s “Mary of Silence” as well as the final form of JEFF’s hypnotic sludge-jam “Whatever I Want” (originally released as part of Third Man Records’ Blue Series).

The Nashville sibling duo expand their world and yours, bringing free saxophones, organs, pedal steel guitar, ghostly background vocals, and unidentifiable yet familiar textures into and out of being, summoned by the beat of Jamin’s drum and shepherded by Jake’s words and guitar. Global Chakra Rhythms is a family affair, featuring not only current JEFF touring shredders Kunal Prakash and Chet Jameson, but also fellow Nashvillians Jack Lawrence (The Dead Weather), Reece Lazarus (Bully), Jessica Mcfarland (Heavy Cream, MEEMAW), Luke Schneider (Natural Child, Promised Land Sound), Christina Norwood (D. Watusi), label-and-tourmates Music Band, and more.  It is their 2nd record of the year and 9th overall, following the release of Wasted On The Dream back in March of 2015.

“‘Radiating Fiber Plane’ is the first single from the band’s forthcoming record Global Chakra Rhythms and marks a comeback to the slacker fuzz vibe of their early days after their last album’s big-budget ’90s alt-rock sound.” – Stereogum

“Hand, make horns; horns, meet sky.” – NPR

“The Nashville duo’s newest album, Wasted on the Dream, offers the same fuzzy riffs as the psychedelic kids, but adds a generous helping of pop hooks and song structure.” – Consequence of Sound

“Jake and Jamin Orral have long-since figured out a winning formula for bad-boy garage rock that’s carried this band through an entire decade of successful releases, and that’s basically forever in band-years.”- Noisey

“…it’s perfect summer listening for those who rock Vans and/or drive vans with dragons painted on the side.”- AV Club


Global Chakra Rhythms Tracklisting

1. Global Chakra Rhythms
2. Pringle Variations
3. Radiating Fiber Plane
4. Deep Space Bound On The Edge Of Reality
5. Mary of Silence
6. Chilled To Bones
7. Solstice Canyon
8. Liquid Onyx
9. The Pillars of Creation
10. Food and Wine Festival
11. Whatever I Want