result (87)

For Fans Of: Cut Copy, Friendly Fires, The Naked And Famous, Passion Pit, Hot Chip, Peter Bjorn and John

Lately, we have heard a lot of Andrew Wyatt and his collaborations with several artists. But until now we didn’t know what was happening with Miike Snow. The trio has shared a brand new song, “Heart is Full”, which will appear in their upcoming new album III next year. Listen below!

As first premiered by Stereogum, “Heart Is Full” is a bit different from Miike Snow. It has all of the sweet, polished Swedish songwriting talent you expect from Andrew Wyatt, Karlsson and Pontus Winnberg. It is a big and bold statement in their return to the music space, immediately assaulting the listener’s ears with booming horns and strong percussion, before giving way to a half-time beat with the hazy vocals from Wyatt that leads into the catchy and horn-filled, classic sounding chorus.

It is equipped with the Swedish songwriting style, going for melody, what sounds and feels good over meaningful lyrics, as Wyatt sings in the chorus, “Please don’t knock over my heart / Cause my heart is full of you / Yeah, my heart is full of you / I don’t worry ’bout tomorrow / Cause my heart is full of you / Yeah, my heart is full of you.”

It may be a jarring change of direction for old Miike Snow fans, but “Heart is Full” is an interesting start to a new record cycle for this group.

A new video for “Heart Is Full” directed by Lance Drake will premiere next week.

result (88)

The next Miike Snow album is done according to one third of the indie pop band, Christian Karlsson. Speaking to the Galantis member at Electric Zoo this past September, Karlsson divulged that it was done, saying, “Miike Snow is coming out with an album. It’s done, so that’s coming out.” He did not share when it might drop or what the project will be titled, but fans can rest assured that a project is completed and on the way.

Miike Snow has been very quiet since their 2012’s Happy To You and the subsequent world tour. Each member of the group has gone on to do their own separate project since 2012.

Karlsson has famously joined up with Linus Elkow, known professionally as Style of Eye, to form Galantis, which recently released their debut album Pharmacy. The do has quickly become one of the hottest names in electronic music.

Andrew Wyatt has gone on to have his own solo career, releasing his debut album Descender in 2013 (see here) and collaborated with Flume on “Some Minds” in May of 2015.

Pontus Winnberg has quietly gone back to his days of Bloodshy & Avant (with Karlsson), writing songs for other artists and also playing in new supergroup Amason (see here).

News about the new Miike Snow album has been few and far between until now. Wyatt in a 2013 interview stated that the group was working on their new album, but he did not indicate a timeline for their progress. At the end of 2014, they confirmed they were at the finish line of the album process with a tour on the way as well in 2015. Now the LP is done and ready to be released, though we don’t know when, probably 2016.

The new album would be the first full-length project from Miike Snow in three years. It will be the third full-length record, following their self-titled debut in 2009 and Happy To You in 2012.

Update: Hear another brand new song called “Genghis Khan” below!

Via Ind Scene and Music Times