Silversun Pickups

For Fans Of: Metric, My Bloody Valentine, The Pixies, Manchester Orchestra, The Joy Formidable, Minus The Bear

Silversun Pickups will herald their much-anticipated fourth studio album with an array of high profile activity. Better Nature will be released September 25th via the band’s own New Machine Recordings.

Better Nature  is preceded by the incandescent new single, “Nightlight,” debuting Thursday August 6th. “Nightlight” also arrives accompanied by a hallucinatory music film, written and directed by legendary filmmaker Mark Pellington (Foo Fighters, Bruce Springsteen, Pearl Jam). The extended video – produced by Braxton Pope (Passion Pit, MGMT) and featuring Meg Steedle (Boardwalk Empire, The Mysteries of Laura) – builds upon the track’s resonant emotional and sonic core to explore the darker recesses of one young woman’s subconscious, a fever dream of guilt, desire, and identity. “Nightlight” is now available to watch and YouTube.

As if all that weren’t enough, August 7th will see the debut broadcast of Silversun Pickups’ full-length appearance on DIRECTV’s Guitar Center Sessions. The all-new episode sees host Nic Harcourt sitting down with the band to discuss their formation, creative process, and what’s next for the band’s future. The episode is highlighted by exclusive performances from Silversun Pickups’ recent set at the world-famous Guitar Center Hollywood, including such iconic classics as “Lazy Eye,” and “Panic Switch,” and also features the first live performance of “Nightlight.” Guitar Center Sessions premieres Friday, August 7th at 9 pm ET on DIRECTV Audience Channel 239 (check local listings).

Better Nature  is available now for pre-order in a variety of formats, including a limited edition signed 2 disc 180g vinyl (black) bundle, signed handwritten lyric sheets, art proofs, exclusive T-shirt, and customized SSPU nightlight.

Silversun Pickups’ first new album in more than three years, Better Nature sees the Silverlake, CA-based band partnering once again with producer Jacknife Lee (U2, Two Door Cinema Club, Crystal Castles), with whom they so successfully collaborated on 2012’s visionary Neck Of The Woods. Songs like “Friendly Fires” and “Cradle (Better Nature)” were created and crafted in Lee’s Topanga studio, the band building out organically from Silversun Pickups singer/guitarist Aubert’s spare songwriting demos. The result is fluid and freewheeling, “oozy,” in Aubert’s words, with heavily cranked guitars, propulsive rhythms, and seemingly infinite textures.

GRAMMY® Award-winning mix engineer Alan Moulder (My Bloody Valentine, Nine Inch Nails, Royal Blood) brings maximum sonic power to the proceedings, but at the album’s beating heart is Silversun Pickups’ remarkably intuitive interplay, as ever providing panoramic musical counterpoint to Aubert’s incisive, increasingly self-exploratory lyricism. Richer, warmer, and more evocative than anything in their prior canon, Better Nature is Silversun Pickups’ most human music thus far.

“This album is like its own quantum universe,” Aubert says. “It’s kind of unstable.”

Silversun Pickups will celebrate Better Nature with an epic North American tour to be unveiled soon. In the meantime, the band will make a number of special showcase appearances, beginning with a headline performance at FM 94.9’s Independence Jam, set for September 12th at Oceanside, CA’s Junior Seau Pier Amphitheatre.

Better Nature marks the debut release from Silversun Pickups’ own New Machine Recordings. The independent label takes its name from the PIKUL favorite, “…All The Go Inbetweens.”

Silversun Pickups is among the most dynamic and creative rock bands of the contemporary era, hailed far and wide for their inimitable merging of ethereal melodies and pure sonic force. From the opening indie rock salvo of 2005’s PikulI EP to 2012’s far-reaching Neck Of The Woods, each successive release has seen the Silverlake, CA-based band boldly venture into uncharted terrain, bravely pushing their imagination and ability towards new and surprising summits. Ambitious and anthemic, tracks like “Panic Switch” and “Lazy Eye” have proven modern classics, a guarantee of rare danger and invention amidst the anodyne dross of post-millennial rock. What’s more, the indefatigable quartet have made it their mission to bring their unique music to the people, touring the planet nearly non-stop to reach a devoted and ever-growing international fan following.

Silversun Pickups is: Brian Aubert (guitar, vocals) * Nikki Monninger (bass) * Joe Lester (keyboards)  * Christopher Guanlao (drums)


Silversun Pickups Better Than Nature
Better Nature
Release Date: September 25th


1.     Cradle (Better Nature)
2.     Connection
3.     Pins & Needles
4.     Friendly Fires
5.     Nightlight
6.     Circadian Rhythm (Last Dance)
7.     Tapedeck
8.     Latchkey Kids
9.     Ragamuffin
10.  The Wild Kind