result (4)

For Fans Of: Banks, Autre Ne Veut, Jessy Lanza, Blood Orange, Glasser, SOHN

FKA twigs has announced details of her much-anticipated debut album, LP1. The London-based producer, singer, songwriter and video director will release LP1 on August 12th, 2014 via Young Turks. You can now stream the entire new record early and free via iTunes Radio First Play here.


1. Preface

2. Lights On

3. Two Weeks

4. Hours

5. Pendulum

6. Video Girl

7. Numbers

8. Closer

9. Give Up

10. Kicks

LP1 is FKA twigs defining artistic statement to date, building on the success of her two previous EPs and accompanying videos (EP1 and EP2), which have elevated FKA twigs from a word-of-mouth secret to global obsession over the past two years. LP1 features none of these previously released songs; instead each track on LP1 is brand new, born out of FKA twigs’ artistic philosophy of spontaneous creation and collaboration in the studio.

LP1 also features artwork from Jesse Kanda, who has manipulated his own photographs of twigs to stunning effect. Kanda previously directed the acclaimed videos for FKA twigs’ “Water Me” and “How’s That” songs.

Crafting ethereal electronic pop that evokes the heyday of Tricky and Massive Attack and the spare 2010′s aesthetic of the XX, London’s FKA twigs is the project of Twigs, a half-Jamaican native of Gloucestershire.  Surrounded by farmland during her teens, she studied ballet and sang on tracks recorded at a studio in a Jamaican youth club.  By the time she was 16, Twigs — whose nickname comes from how loudly she can crack her bones — began writing songs in earnest; though she moved to London to pursue a career as a dancer at 17, she soon realized she really wanted to be a professional musician.  Along with working as a bartender, Twigs spent as much time in the studio as possible and ultimately self-released her self-titled EP in 2012 via Bandcamp. After changing her moniker to FKA twigs at the request of another artist named Twigs, she returned in 2013 with EP 2, a striking set of songs featuring production from Kanye West collaborator Arca. We placed her in our list of picks for The 50 Best Bets Of SXSW 2014 (see here).

“The enigmatic British chanteuse is making music a modern art.” –Interview Magazine

“One of music’s most intriguing new figures”–VOGUE

“Smoldering, ethereal and unabashedly eccentric, UK artist FKA twigs is unlike anything you’ve ever heard or seen.”–The Source

“Expect more from this shape-shifter in the coming months.”–Billboard

“FKA twigs is the most exciting musician in the world right now, redefining the boundaries of pop music with her surreal music videos, fragile electronica and extravagant dance routines.”–DAZED & CONFUSED

“Keep an eye out for FKA twigs, a Mark Ryden painting come to life who evokes Tricky’s unhinged trip-hop.”– SPIN

“Her hypnotic, bare electro-pop is powerful in the way that a whisper, when delivered confidently, can be louder that a shout.” –W Magazine

“Budding hot songstress FKA twigs is catching everybody’s eye now for her voice and her gorgeous curves.” –XXL Magazine