result (61)

For Fans Of: Mikal Cronin, Royal Baths, Mac Demarco, The War On Drugs, Ducktails, Here We Go Magic

Kurt Vile continues teasing his forthcoming 6th album, b’lieve i’m goin down, set for release Sept. 25. First there was “Pretty Pimpin,” a rambling ode to dissociation in which the narrator can’t remember (among other things) that it’s actually himself blocking the bathroom sink on a Saturday morning. Now comes “Life Like This” and its video directed by San Francisco-based animator Adam Avilla.

The clip starts out simply, as Vile and his band perform the track inside a home studio, but things quickly unwind as multicolored streaks enter the frame and Vile falls into a bowl of Cheerios, is visited by a purple ape and flies above a field of flowers. It all culminates as Vile is subsumed into a giant crystal at the center of a galaxy. Trippy? More than a little.

Avilla is no stranger to music videos, having previously worked on Thao & The Get Down Stay Down‘s “Holy Roller,” Giraffage‘s “Tell Me” and Red Fang‘s “Crows in Swine.” As the director noted on his website, “‘Life Like This’ is a story about getting at the heart of inspiration and the surreal disjointed journey that the pursuit entails. Aimee Bender, a novelist, once said, ‘As a writer, you ask yourself to dream while awake.’ I feel that artists of all disciplines can relate to such a notion of getting pleasantly (or sometimes unpleasantly) lost in your own thoughts, and from them reap inspiration for our best work.”

Philadelphia native Vile received critical acclaim for his most recent studio record, 2013’s Wakin on a Pretty Daze, recorded with his longtime band, The Violators. The (pseudo-) title cut, “Wakin on a Pretty Day,” which stretches on for nearly 10 minutes, “embodies Kurt Vile’s ability to make songs that sound like they could’ve been written in two minutes and could also go on for twenty, with no complaints from our end,” said Pitchfork. His forthcoming album was recorded, in part, at Rancho de la Luna, the famed Joshua Tree, Calif., studio featured in Dave Grohl’s documentary series Sonic Highways. Vile also put in time in Brooklyn, Athens and Los Angeles.

“It’s got the pretty finger-pickers, it’s got the electric song, it’s got piano songs, which I haven’t really had, there are banjo songs,’ Vile told Spin earlier this year. “It’s all over the place.”

Vile kicks off an extensive fall/winter tour on Oct. 2 in Boston, which includes appearances at Austin City Limits (Oct. 4 & 11), Pitchfork Music Festival in Paris (Oct. 30) and The Falls Music and Arts Festival in Australia over New Year’s weekend. See all tour dates here.

result (62)

b’lieve i’m goin down…Tracklisting:

01 Pretty Pimpin
02 I’m an Outlaw
03 Dust Bunnies
04 That’s Life, tho (almost hate to say)
05 Wheelhouse
06 Life Like This
07 All in a Daze Work
08 Lost My Head there
09 Stand Inside
10 Bad Omens
11 Kidding Around
12 Wild Imagination

Deluxe 3 LP Edition: believe I’m goin (deep) down…Tracklisting

13 Believe I’m Goin down
14 Less Talk (More Walkin Away) *
15 Nicotine Blues *
16 Bad Omens (No Faders) *
17 No Stranger to the Ball Bust *
18 Sax Omens (J Turbo) *

* deluxe 3xLP bonus tracks